Day 43: Thorns in Your Side

As we go through our lives as Christ-followers, it can sometimes be easy to get angry or upset at God when He brings us to yet another trial, another struggle, another hardship. It’s even easier to forget that in the face of these struggles, God is greater than our circumstances, greater than our fears and failures, and greater than our hearts, for He knows everything, and He is more than enough

Pray: that no matter what you’re going through right now, that you would be able to come before God right now with a humble and honest heart, to seek the joy of His presence

Read: 2 Corinthians 12:4-10

Ask yourself: Have you ever felt that God placed a (metaphorical) thorn in your side? How did you feel/respond? How did God respond?

Quick digression/sharing: So this is usually where the application goes, but I just wanted to share where I was when I found this passage a couple years back and how it spoke to me. For those of you who don’t know (me), I’ve had a knee problem/ache for the past few years, and at the time, I was still wearing a pretty bulky knee brace when I went out. I was able to walk around fine, but my ability to play sports was severely limited, and it sometimes got to the point where I couldn’t go very far without limping or needing my brace. Though it wasn’t an insane ache, my mom was constantly worried about my knee, and it broke my heart to see the hopelessness with which she viewed my knee situation. One Sunday morning, I somehow flipped to this passage in 2 Corinthians about Paul and his thorn, and as I read how he pleaded with the Lord three times to take away his thorn, my heart felt pierced. I felt just like Paul, only I had prayed many, many more times, asking God to take away my knee pain and heal it completely. It had gotten to the point where others would still pray for my knee, but I had pretty much given up, although I would still sometimes beg God to heal my knee. But He didn’t. And He still hasn’t, completely. But that morning (and even today), He gave me His promise: “My grace is enough for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”

Brothers and sisters, our God is faithful. He will never give you more than you can handle (1 Cor. 10:13), because He has showered His grace upon you, and His grace is enough. It is enough to get you through your hardest day, your toughest crisis, your darkest hour. Let His power be made perfect in your weakness.

Application/Pray: Take a few minutes to really reflect on verses 9 and 10 and what it says about the character of our God. Pray that, as Paul says, you would be able to boast all the more gladly of your weaknesses, that you would be content and even joyful in the face of hardships and trials, and that most of all, you would know the reality of God’s grace in all its perfection and sufficiency. No matter where you are, He was, He is, and He will always, always be more than enough for you. =)

