Day 22: A Friend’s Testimony

If you read Day 21’s devotional, then this is the testimony it’s based off of.

Before I went to World Changers, my relationship with God was just obliterated. I had so much going on in my life that kept me from Him; keeping up with AP English, aiming for a high SAT score, friends and family, lust ..basically sin in general. I had a really hard time focusing on His word and keeping up with quiet times. It was to the point where I just started giving up and conforming to the society of a normal teenager. Thus, I felt like I didn’t really have a reason to go to World Changers besides seeing old friends and making new ones. On top of that, I just didn’t feel like I was worthy of serving God because of the numerous times I’ve sinned against God.
When arriving and getting the T-shirts, I saw the word “Unhindered” on the shirt. I started realizing how it was all in God’s plan for me to come since my relationship with God was hindered but also because, after all the times I tried to get out of the mission trip, they all failed. When our speaker, Mike spoke to us on the first day I remember him telling us that before we start working on the houses, we need to cleanse our minds of anything that hindered our relationship with God. Because this mission trip wasn’t focused on just fixing up houses, the foundation of the mission trip was grounded upon God. So, during prayer I tried my hardest to focus on God and repent of all my sins. It was so hard though; I had a voice at the back of my head telling me how I’m not worthy of serving God because of everything I did that God hated. By the end of the service, I was tearing up.. not because God was working in me but because I knew Satan was.
But, the next day during lunch devotions, God reached out to me. The main verse of the day was Psalm 19:7-14 and basically the part that stuck out to me was 12-14. It made me realize that God doesn’t love me because I’m perfect nor does God hate me for sinning. God loves be despite the many times I’ve sinned. God hates the sin but not the sinner. God doesn’t want us to sit in our sin, Satan does. “Who can discern his errors? Declare me innocent from hidden faults. Keep back your servant also from presumptuous sins; let them not have dominion over me! Then I shall be blameless, and innocent of great transgression.” Basically, God wants the best for us despite our failure of keeping that relationship we want with Him. He forgives us and our sin will be forgiven because of his mercy. We don’t have to do anything to receive his mercy, because our forgiveness is through His Love.
After reading that verse, I slowly started to finally focus on God and on His Word. I slowly felt like God was killing each sin one at a time and by the end of the day I felt like Satan didn’t have a hold on me anymore. I was finally able to hear what He had to tell me each day and didn’t have a hold on me during prayers, it was just God and me. I was finally at peace and was able to finally focus on that relationship I desired to have with Him.

Take a moment to pray for her. Praise God for the change in her heart, and ask that he may recreate, reinvent you. Praying for others is equally as important as praying for yourself. Love is putting someone else’s needs before your own. Love others just as God loved you. Pray as you see fit.

